003. NYC Field Trip

Jade McNeil Interiors
4 min readDec 3, 2023

--

A day of furniture shopping in my own backyard.

Recently, I was talking to a design colleague and good friend of mine about how we both feel like we’re burnt out on sourcing from the same vendors, online, from our (home) offices. So we decided to plan a day to go in-person sourcing right in our backyard, which happens to be one of the greatest cities for interior design! New York City is home to some of the best showrooms for interior design, with options for all styles and price points. I wanted to make the most out of the outing and see a variety of vendors and pieces, from accessories to lighting, from in stock to custom, from no-expense-is-too-much to budget-conscious (and everything in between). As an interior designer, it’s so important to continue to source amazing pieces for my clients and keep my eye fresh with the latest and greatest pieces and materials. I had so much fun seeing new, cool pieces and envisioning them in my clients’ homes (present and future). So here’s a roundup of some of my favorites from the day!

We started the day at The Future Perfect. This beautiful vendor’s take on a showroom is unmatched. They display their beautifully unique artisan and bespoke pieces in a townhouse, giving a true picture of how their unique collection can be used in any home. This antiqued mirror and coffee table collection are inset with beautiful geo stones (my weakness) by Chen Chen and Kai Williams, a cozy Elysia lounge chair in a rich chocolate boucle by Luca Nichetto for De La Espada, all illuminated with one-of-a-kind lighting from the Blue Green Works Trophy Collection.

The Future Perfect: This may have been my favorite space in the house (but let’s be honest, they are all my favorite). The wallpaper by Calico sets an ethereal tone, grounded with a sisal patterned area rug, and my favorite Bocci light fixture.

The Future Perfect: A wall of one-of-a-kind stoneware vases by Jane Yang D’Haene, and just the right amount of color for this designer.

Next, we visited Blueprint Lighting. This vendor makes beautiful metal and glass lighting in literally any color you can imagine. Their sculptural Flamenco floor lamp has been living rent-free in my head from the moment I laid eyes on her.

We then stopped into Suite NY, where upon entering I became mesmerized by the Andromeda collection of mirrors, solid marble Eros console with extravagantly subtle details, and a beautifully and delicately shaped Siene table lamp.

The Delbert Arthur showroom brought out all of the showstopping pieces, including these artfully crafted vases by Hyejeong Kim. These ceramic vases are handcrafted with a mix of copper to give them a beautiful turquoise patina.

We ended our day at Fair viewing this handcrafted wall hanging by Michelle Quan. I was in awe at how each disc is handcrafted and glazed out of ceramic and tied to one another, making a showstopping textural conversation piece.

Of course, there’s only so much to see in a single day, so I’m thinking of making this a monthly outing. Where do you think I should visit next?

Talk soon,

Xx Jade

--

--

Jade McNeil Interiors

Jade McNeil Interiors is an interior design firm. JMI designs soulful modern interiors by bridging nature with modern day life to create timeless designs.